Kale and Carrot Salad

The Beloved Cooks Vegan!

In a remarkable act of love, my Beloved took one of his favorite meals that he likes to cook, and veganized it.  He calls it “Motch” which he tells me means “Mixture of things” and consists of ground beef, corn, rice a roni, soy sauce and whatever is hanging around.  A great  “use up the leftovers” dish. He usually tops it with shredded cheese.  And it’s good!  Everyone in the family loves it.  But he’s been reluctant to make it since I went vegan, though I tell him this is my commitment, and I don’t want him to have to cook two meals for me; if I can’t eat what he’s cooking, I’ll find something myself.  But he doesn’t like leaving me out, sweet man, so he asked what he could use as a ground beef replacement.  I introduced him to TVP; and it worked!  I haven’t used it that much myself; had made chili with it that everyone loved, so I thought it would work well in motch.  PS; he also makes the most amazing fruit salads, that we had with dinner too!

To go with it, I made a Kale Carrot Salad.  Here’s the recipe!
Kale and Carrot Salad

1  bunch Kale, washed well, stalks trimmed
1 cup shredded carrot
2 Tbl Lime juice
2 Tbl Tahini
1 Tbl Tamari
2 tsp grated ginger root
1 tsp rice vinegar
1 tsp Sriracha
2 tsp sesame oil
1-2 Tbl sesame seeds

Directions:

1. Blanche kale 1 minute in boiling water; remove to ice bath; drain, pat dry.
2. Place kale and carrot in serving bowl.
3. Blend remaining ingredients well.  Toss with vegetables.
4. Rest at room temperature at LEAST 15 minutes; as long as an hour.
5. Sprinkle with sesame seeds or other garnish; serve.

The kale is “cooked” by the acids in the dressing to make it more digestible.  It really needs the rest time to work.  Refrigerated, leftovers will still be good the next day.

Source of recipe: Inspired by http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/recipes/2721 ; but in looking at the dressing ingredients I thought it needed, well, flavor.  I love ginger and went a little heavy on it; you may want to reduce it by half if you’re not a huge ginger fan.

Makes: 4-6 servings, Preparation time: 1 hour

  • B – rice chex, almond milk, nectarine
  • L – homemade veggie burger on “thins” bun, veggie straws snacks, dried fruit, peach
  • D – Motch, Kale & Carrot Salad, Homemade fruit salad
  • S  – Green drink, Purely Decadent Coconut Milk Ice Cream
Leave a Reply

