Chocolate Mousse

Work was trying today but at least it’s Friday.  Two whole days off!  Was feeling a bit better pain wise today, but rude customers at work and a minor run in with the Boss left me in a less than cheerful state.  Probably PMSing too.  So don’t really have much to say today – oh wait, I have a recipe!

I was hungry late night, didn’t want chips or salty food. Probably due to the PMS I was craving chocolate.  So I decided to whip up some chocolate mousse.  Didn’t have a recipe, but remember that Peanut Butter Chocolate Pie I made for Father’s Day?  I took a hint from that and made just the chocolate layer, as pudding.

Vegan Chocolate Mousse

1 package silken tofu
1 package vegan chocolate chips
approx 1/4 cup agave nectar (or to taste)

Melt chocolate chips in microwave; about 2 1/2 minutes; stir to liquify.  Place tofu, drained and agave in blender.  Add melted chocolate; Blend like crazy.  Presto! So easy and SOOOO delicious.  If our freezer wasn’t iffy, I’d have put some into our popsicle molds for a yummy ice-cold treat.  I might  use the leftovers as frosting, or ooooo a creamy middle for cupcakes. The mind boggles….

B – tofu scramble with potato, spinach
S – green drink
L – leftover  veggie burger with veggie slices cheese on half a “thin” bun, cucumber
S – Veggie Straws snack, lavash bread, nectarine
D – Tofu scramble with potato soyrizo, and kale; corn on the cob
S – Chocolate Mousse

Typing these daily menus reminded me that some question eating soy for those taking thyroid replacements.  I’m eating a LOT of soy. I’m thinking about perhaps next week trying to avoid soy, trying some seitan instead.  My first attempt at making seitan didn’t go as well as I’d have liked; but I’ve looked at a lot of recipes and videos and I think maybe I’m up for another try.  On the other hand, if I start treatment with Nathan Monday, I won’t know which thing did it if I feel better; so maybe I’ll talk to Nathan about it and see what he thinks.  I will probably make the seitan anyway to get a little variety into my diet.  I think this will be a batch cooking weekend; though I have to be careful since Sears can’t come out to look at our freezer (again) until the 12th.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dessert Man
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 15:30:31

    Sounds really good for a vegan recipe.

    Reply

  2. cherizac
    Aug 05, 2010 @ 15:50:46

    Hi Keith! Thanks for stopping by! I checked out your website; very interesting. I used to purchase the mousse mixes (before I was vegan) when they were marketed by Nestle; reluctantly, as I’ve never been fond of that company, but the mousse was SO good… I don’t see your products in my grocery stores now, which is a shame. I thought they’d been discontinued, and I’m happy to hear they are not. Can they be made with non-dairy milks? I might be convinced to order them from your website if they can. And I can do so with a clear conscience!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

