It has been an exhausting couple of days.

So yesterday I worked for a few hours in the morning, then did a little gardening, a little child interaction, then the stress of the doctor’s visit.  I was pretty exhausted and in pain when I went to bed last night.  Today, did the blood work deal, some laundry, napped, went back to the clinic to have SEVEN vials of blood taken (at least I can’t complain he’s not trying to find out what’s wrong!) and then took Murphy to his baseball practice.  I had promised him pancakes for Mardi Gras but I was reaching my functional limit, so I wimped out and took him to Carrow’s for dinner so he could get them.  Since there is not one other thing on the menu I can eat, including their salads, for heaven’s sake, I had onion rings.  Which probably have milk in them too. Oy  We are now home, and I am beyond tired.  It was fun though.  It’s a very fine line to walk, pushing one’s self to remain a contributing participant of the family, and not pushing so hard that the cost is days of pain and exhaustion.  Like Stephen Tyler, I don’t want to miss a thing.  Kids grow up so fast, and Murphy is nearing the age where he’ll start pulling away from us.

Tomorrow I think I’ll be mostly camping out in bed, knitting if my finger hasn’t swollen much more, reading blogs, writing emails, relaxing.  If the pain isn’t too bad, I’d like to do a little cooking.  Hoping to work a bit on Thursday.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. asbestos
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 04:29:28

    Glad you’re working on the balance. Sometimes you have to give in to your body short term in order to enjoy your peeps long term.
    So why can’t you eat Carrow’s salad? Raw veggies seem safe, even for a vegan.

    Reply

  2. Cherizac
    Mar 09, 2011 @ 17:37:03

    Carrow’s salads are pre-made, with cheese and dressing and all kinds of crap I can’t eat. It’s almost impossible to find things to eat in places like that. Pancakes have milk, eggs are cooked in butter, and I expect that probably the batter on my onion rings contained some milk product. It gets frustrating. You ask the waiter and they often have no clue what is in the products.

    We don’t eat out very often. =]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

