Knitting

So much of what I’ve been doing whilst incommunicado over the last month is fiber related.  It’s meditation for me, and I can feel productive even if I can’t do housework or so much of what I expect to be doing.  I rediscovered Ravelry and actually started entering my projects and my stash, which seems an impossible task, but I’ve gotten more done than I expected.  For those of you not knitting obsessed, Ravelry is a social networking group for fiber people to share patterns, tips, stash, info, and waste a boatload of time.  There have been times I’ve spent hours a day on Ravelry, and times when months go by and I forget my log in.  You can use it as much or as little as you like, but it’s a great resource for finding patterns and getting help if you get stuck.  It’s free too, always a good thing.

I’ve always knitted from patterns before, not having a ton of skill, experience, or imagination.  But I wanted to make a gift for someone that was unique, and couldn’t find what I was looking for, so I decided to try to make one up.  I’m really pleased with the result!  They’re fingerless gloves, but entirely for decorative purpose.  Here’s the first version.

They came out okay, but I wasn’t happy with the rolled cuff.  I didn’t want ribbing, as it seems less elegant.  So here’s what I came up with for the second version: a picot edge.  Much better.  I envision beading as well, but haven’t quite gone that far.

If anyone is interested in the pattern, it is available for sale on my store site, Homespun Dreamings.  The website is being revamped, so if it’s not there, or you have trouble with it, email me directly and I’ll get you situated.

Eventually, I hope to be selling the finished gloves as well.  If you’re looking for fiber of any sort, check out the website or send me an email.  I’m trying to contribute somehow while unemployed to the fiscal health of my family through sales in the store.  I still have buckets full that I haven’t managed to get listed on the page yet, so if you’re looking for something that isn’t there, email me and I’ll see if I’ve got it!

Baby booties, adult hats, socks, mitts are being churned out constantly; so often in fact that I forget to take pictures!  I’m trying to rope the more experienced and talented photographer into helping me out (Pretty please, Peru?) so I can get them on the site ASAP.

I have another design in the works that’s a tad more complicated but AWESOME; both sons have asked me to make one for them already.  Imagine something that pleases a ten year old and a twenty-three year old both!  Pictures soon, when it’s a bit further along.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cherizac
    Jun 18, 2011 @ 12:57:48

    Wow; WordPress just updated a new version. When I posted this, it told me this was my 104th post! Wow; I should have a contest to celebrate!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

